Our new seed house - September 2021

seedbox

Spring is in the air. Don't you love the warmth of the sun? This second lockdown took us all by suprise! Whilst we used the time to chill out, we've also taken the opportunity to build a seed house so we can grow our vegetables from scratch. We are growing basil, carrots, spring onions and rocket. Who would have thought that rocket would be the fastest sprouting seed? I guess the name gives it away! Neil took some spare MDF and a old window that was sitting under the flat to build this cool little seed house - just don't tell the landlord. What would you grow if you could start from scratch?

We grew a garden! - February 2020

terrace

Renting gives you a lot of freedom but then again it doesn't. Our landlord wouldn't let us touch his grass, but based on our experience in Nepal we knew we could build up, so we reclaimed the land at the toe of the neighbours hill and built some terraces to start our very own vegetable garden. We grew beans, and borage, spinach and spring onions. In the summer we had an abundance of tomatoes and strawberries. There is rosemary, lavender, sage and thyme. I absolutely LOVE spending time in my garden and it brings me such joy!

Buy no clothes for a year challenge - July 2018

clothes

Arriving back into New Zealand in early 2018, I challenged myself to buying NO NEW CLOTHES FOR A YEAR. You might think this is a little bit drastic, but this project has highlighted the emotional attachments I have to purchasing and my triggers that exist. Inspired by books like "The Year of Less" written by Cait Flanders and by Netflix documentary makers The Minimalists, I felt compelled to adopt the same approach. I must admit I'm not perfect. I have had to buy some new boots for work. And living in a yurt meant that I had to forgo my challenge and purchase a down jacket, but when I made those purchases I did so with a greater awareness than before.How many of your clothes do you actually wear and how many just sit in the closet? Do you really need more? It's now more important than ever for our planet to consume less. Do you think you can take on the challenge?